Hello friends, today we are going to discuss the Difference between View All, Modify All and View All Data, Modify All Data in Salesforce. To ensure data security and access control, Salesforce provides a robust permission system. Two crucial permissions that often generate confusion among Salesforce users are “View All, Modify All” and “View All Data, Modify All Data.
Also, check this: Download JSON File in LWC
Key Highlights :
- View All Modify All USED FOR Delegation of object permissions.
- View All Modify All USERS WHO NEED THEM Delegated administrators who manage records for specific objects.
- The “View All” and “Modify All” permissions ignore sharing rules and settings
- View All Data and Modify All Data are given on profile level and permission set level.
View All :
Objects can be granted “View All” or “Modify All” permissions through profiles or permission sets. Permissions for objects are found in profiles and allow access to all records.
An organization’s View All permissions grant read access to all records associated with an object and read-only access to its associations.
Sharing rules and settings are ignored when using the “View All” and “Modify All” permissions.
Modify All grants read, edit, and delete access to the object and full access to records within that object.
“View All” and “Modify All” can be better alternatives to the “View All Data” and “Modify All Data” permissions.
View All and Modify All are not available for ideas, price books, article types, and products.
View All Data:
View All Data and Modify All Data permissions are assigned via profile or permission set.
View All Data will grant read access to all objects and records, and provide the ability to see all data in the organization.
Modify All Data :
Modifying All Data will grant create, read, edit, and delete to all objects as well as full access to all records, providing the ability to edit and delete all data in the organization.
- Users who have “View All Data” and “Modify All Data” permissions can access data cleansing, deduplication, mass deletion, mass transferring, and managing record approvals.
- Users with View All Data or Modify All Data permission can view or modify all apps and data, even if the apps and data are not shared with them.